Sources

  1. “40th Anniversary of Title IX: The Next Generation.” Title IX. The MARGARET Fund of NWLC, 2017. Web. 27 Apr. 2017.
  2. “Counseling and Psychiatry.” Center for Counseling & Student Development. University of Delaware , n.d. Web. 27 Apr. 2017. <http://sites.udel.edu/counseling/>.
  3. Campbell, Rebecca, Emily Dworkin, and Giannina Cabral. “An Ecological Model of the Impact of Sexual Assault on Women’s Mental Health.” Trauma, Violence, and Abuse 10.3 (2009): n. pag. Sage Journals. Web. 27 Apr. 2017.
  4. Oluo, Ijeoma. “‘13 Reasons Why’ Scared The Shit Out Of Me — And It Should Scare You Too.” The Establishment . N.p., 14 Apr. 2017. Web. 27 Apr. 2017.
  5. Mowbray, Carol. “Campus mental health services: Recommendations for change.” 76.2 (2016): n. pag. APA PsycNET. Web. 27 Apr. 2017.

Source 1: This source outlines what Title IX entails and the actual impacts it has on college campuses. It’s important that I include this as a source because a portion of my paper is focused on how sexual assault on college campuses affects women’s health. Title IX is always a part of the conversation concerning sexual assault on campuses. I mention a personal experience I’ve had on campus and how Title IX played a part in that so it’s very important that I’m able to clearly define and explain it.

Source 2: I specifically mention the University of Delaware several times in my paper to make it more relevant to students on our own campus. Part of the point that I am arguing is that there are not enough qualified resources on campus for student’s who are struggling with mental illnesses. This site is from UD’s own page and discusses the options available to students.

Source 3: This is a very important source because it comes from an academic journal and fits into my paragraphs concerning the effects of sexual assault on the mental health of women on campuses. I can use this source to solidify and add credibility to my points arguing that sexual assault, a huge issue on campus, can worsen the already debilitating affects of mental illnesses for students.

Source 4: 13 Reasons Why is an extremely popular show that is very prevalent with students on colleges campuses as it just recently came out. It deals very graphically with issues of rape and suicide and has received a good amount of criticism for the way that it portrays depression and suicide. The show does make use of trigger warnings but as a part of my paper I am arguing that these warnings are largely ineffective and the show’s graphic images can still have a hugely negative affect on those who actually deal with the issues discussed. This article discusses from a personal perspective how the show had an extremely negative affect on her son who struggles with depression and suicidal tendencies.

Source 5: This article from an academic journal discusses how mental health series on college campuses need to be reformed in order to be more effective. This is the main point that I am making in my paper and this article accentuates all of the points that I am attempting to prove in my paper.

My sources each relate directly to a topic I am discussing in my paper and blend well together in a way that allows me to have evidence to back up my statements. They each are very descriptive and I am happy that the ones that I have found so clearly relate to the main topics I want to cover.

One thought on “Sources

  1. To begin, it seems like you used a lot of sources that go well together and also allow you to expand on the topics in your essay and connect to your audience.

    For example, you found a source specifically from the counseling center at the University of Delaware. When learning about something more closely connected to themselves, people tend to care more about it and therefore, learn more about it. This, in turn, will make your argument stronger. One question I have is: how does this specifically add to your argument? Is it a counterargument because there are a lot of resources on the website, or does it support your argument because there are not many resources available at UD?

    Next, I think it is awesome that you’re incorporating a popular show into your essay. This argues an important message on how much media sources can influence people’s mental health or people’s perception of mental health on college campuses. Exploring this aspect shows that you know a lot about the subject of your essay and that you are being thorough.

    In summary, your varied sources, which range from psychological perspectives and academic journals to personal accounts, will add a lot to your argument and your essay as a whole.

    Like

Leave a Reply

