Bibliography

Armstrong, Elizabeth A., Laura Hamilton, and Brian Sweeney. “Sexual Assault on Campus: A Multilevel, Integrative Approach to Party Rape.” Social Problems 53.4 (2006): 483-99. Women’s Studies International. Web. 4 Apr. 2017.

Martin, Patricia Yancey. “The Rape Prone Culture of Academic Contexts.” Gender & Society 30.1 (2016): 30-43. Women’s Studies International. Web. 26 Apr. 2017.

National Sexual Violence Resource Center. “Statistics About Sexual Violence.” National Sexual Violence Resource Center . National Sexual Violence Resource Center, 2015. Web. 26 Apr. 2017. http://www.nsvrc.org/.

RAINN. “Campus Sexual Violence: Statistics.” RAINN. RAINN, 2015. Web. 26 Apr. 2017. https://www.rainn.org/statistics/victims-sexual-violence.

My first source, an article called “Sexual Assault on Campus: A Multilevel, Integrative Approach to Party Rape” was incredibly useful in my section about why college campuses are prone to higher sexual assault cases.  This source really helped create a stronger case for how drugs and alcohol lead to sexual crimes.  It also touches on the social structures of college campuses and how that may contribute to a more perceived sexualized peer cultures.

My second source, “The Rape Prone Culture of Academic Contexts” was one of the most helpful sources I had when I was discussing how fraternities and athletic organizations on college campuses.  This source really broke down these organizations and what they were founded on, and analyzed their values that make them more prone to sexual crimes.  Similarly, it gave many real life examples of fraternity brothers saying some pretty obscene things about women.  In some campuses, it acknowledges how athletes and even frat boys may be looked as inferior to some, and for this reason they can get away with more and can have a superior air to them.  This source also evaluated the party scene and what characteristics of it can lead to this crime.

My third source, the National Sexual Violence Resource Center, provided really good statistics that I think really help add to the urgency of the issue.  One of the big things I want to do in this essay is get reader’s to see that this is a huge issue, so these statistics help build to that point because numbers can help make it real for people so seeing those numbers can drive a point home to people and can grab their attention towards the beginning of the essay to pull the reader in more.

My fourth source is RAINN, which is overall a really good source that was very insightful when learning more information about sexual assault in general. This source had really great statistics that helped strengthen my essay.  Similarly, this website had a lot on safety and prevention and about public policy, and just a lot of good information that could be really helpful in my prevention paragraph.  They had a specific part on safety for students about alcohol, and warning signs and what consent looks like, all things I can add to my essay in the prevention section.

All of these sources work together to help strengthen and add insight to my essay.  Each one offers different information, yet it all can be intertwined to go off of and support one another.  I was glad that I could get a good idea from one that could easily be reinforced by another idea in another source.  Similarly, they all blended really well together and all made sense when tied together.  I am happy that my sources support one another and my paper as a whole because I feel that my essay is significantly made stronger with points from each of them.  My sources all work together to help prove my overall point about sexual assault on college campuses, their prevalence, and how we can help prevent it.

Leave a Reply

