Bibliography- Matt Kains

Bibliography:
Berri, David . “Exploitation Is Everywhere in Men’s College Basketball.” Time. Time, 14 Nov. 2014. Web. 26 Apr. 2017. <http://time.com/3586037/exploitation-is-everywhere-in-mens-college-basketball/&gt;.
Mccann, Michael. “Illegal Defense.” Virginia Sports and Entertainment Law Journal (2004): n. pag. Web.
ONE AND DONE/BEN SIMMONS. Perf. Ben Simmons. Showtime, 2016. Television. Showtime. Web. <http://www.sho.com/titles/3437256/one-and-done-ben-simmons&gt;.
Wahl, Grant. “Ahead of His Class Ohio high school junior LeBron James is so good that he’s already being mentioned as the heir to Air Jordan.” SI.com. Sports Illustrated, n.d. Web. 26 Apr. 2017.
Weinreb, Michael. “College Basketball’s One-And-Done Rule Fails Everybody.” VICE Sports. Vice, 08 Jan. 2016. Web. 26 Apr. 2017.
How I am using these sources:
I have read through all of theses sources and I have picked out the information that is most useful for my research argument. For example, the first source talks about exploitation of college athletes, which is one of the main points of my argument against the “one and done” rule. More specifically, the article mentions that the UNC Tar Heels basketball team brought in $20.9 million in revenue, and explains how the players receive nothing as compensation, which is a point that I included in my paper. The second source that I included was written by a sports lawyer from the University of New Hampshire. He frequently mentions the profits that the broadcasting companies make due to college basketball superstars, and how “one and done” players are very important for these companies. The third source is a documentary about Ben Simmons, who was a one and done recently drafted number one overall. He is very opposed to the rule and I will use his personal anecdotes as support to my argument. My fourth source is the Sports Illustrated feature on LeBron James when he was Simmonsa junior in high school. I used it simply to provide background information that I included in my introduction. My final source on the above list is from Vice Sports, and it provides an interesting angle on the issue that not many other sources talk about. It states that the one and done superstars are not as crucial to good viewership and quality of play as one might think. For example, the author writes that 80% of the minutes in one of the biggest games last season, Oklahoma-Kansas, were played by juniors and seniors.

Leave a comment