Mapping the Movement: Campus Sexual Assault

Now that I’ve started to build my own website on WordPress, I’ve thought a lot about what an online platform means for the movement against campus sexual assault. One benefit of creating an online platform for this movement is that online platforms are accessible to everyone who has some sort of access to the internet, and are therefore an effective way of publicizing information in a fast and affordable manner. Another benefit of using an online platform for this movement in particular is that it heavily relies on the personal stories of sexual assault victims as well as statistics related to sexual assault, which can both be incorporated in a website format. These stories and statistics both serve as powerful tools in making an impact on readers. The personal stories cause readers to feel compassion for victims, causing readers to want to get involved within the movement in some way. The statistics, on the other hand, provide a certain shock factor for readers. For instance, reading that over one in ten (11.2%) college students experience sexual assault may cause some readers to feel enraged by such high levels of assault, and, as a result, make it an issue personal to them on an emotional level. I plan on using a variety of media sources, including videos of campus protests, graphic representations of statistics, and lots of images on each page in order to make my website an interactive experience for readers. I also plan on organizing my website into distinct pages (i.e. problem, solution, protests, resources) in order to make navigating through the site as easy as possible. Overall, I’m looking forward to the challenge of creating my own website for the movement against campus sexual assault as it’s an issue I feel very passionate about.

not-on-my-campus-1

One thought on “Mapping the Movement: Campus Sexual Assault

  1. I feel like the topic of campus sexual assault is very good one; as it can easily relate to all of us. I like how simply and easily you broke down this question explaining in detail what you are actually going to do and what your website is going to provide. I also noticed your use of ethos, pathos, and logos in explaining the stories and statistics behind campus sexual assault. I also feel like a topic such as this will have very powerful media responses and I believe you will be able to find a multitude of powerful campus protests. Overall, it seems to be a solid plan and topic of interest.

    Like

Leave a Reply

