Advocacy: Taking Action

Advocacy personally means actively and adamantly standing up for a value or belief regardless of the opinions or consequences that may result. The most notable recent movements that come to mind are LGBTQ, Black Lives Matter, and the women’s rights. Additionally, some more historic movements consist of boycotts, marches and civil disobedience. All of these movements spark thoughts of a group of people joining together to bring the end of an injustice. Personally, I am most interested in exploring the Blue Lives Matter movement. I have a personal connection to this because my father is a retired New York City police officer. Although college campuses are not the most common place to find advocates for this cause, I am aware of the protest that occurred at The University of California-Irvine. However, the common theme there was Blue Lives Don’t Matter. While I do recognize that some police officers mistreat people, I feel it is unfair to group all of them under this umbrella. Particularly on a college campus, I feel law enforcement is crucial to providing a sense of security and safety throughout each student’s mind. I see a restored sense of trust as a resulting benefactor from exploring this movement. A major barrier to break through would be the damaged relationship between some people and police officers due to negative prior experiences. I hope that the majority of people can one day return to a state of thinking that police officers are here to help the general public, rather than everyone living in fear of them.

One thought on “Advocacy: Taking Action

  1. Hey mileone31, I found your first blog post to be very insightful and I look forward to reading your future posts. You presented an opinion that doesn’t outwardly seem to be the opinion of the majority of people these days, especially after seeing the Campaign Zero website. I value your ability to step out and take a stand for what you believe in. That is exactly what advocacy means to both you and I. I agree with your belief that it is unfair to group all police officers into this negative group that makes all of them seem like bad and violent people. While I do agree that from what we have seen, some police officers have abused their power and shown just how violent and unnecessarily aggressive they can be, that doesn’t justify looking upon all police officers in that negative way. As a college student, I often take for granted the security and protection that police officers provide around campus, and I am glad that I am reminded to appreciate the good works that they do that go unnoticed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

