Promoting Positive Change

In my personal opinion, I believe advocacy to be the spreading of an idea one is passionate about and making others knowledgable on the topic.  Advocacy is fighting for what one wants and believes in; as they spread a message that can make a positive difference.  When I think of movements that work to promote change, I think of peaceful protests or petitions.  There are many other ways to promote change, but these two ways of promoting change, I feel, can be very impactful and make a serious difference in the community.  Change is good and movements through protest and petition accomplish it well.  When I think of movements, the popular come to mind.  Movements such as The Civil Rights Movement, Gun Violence and Protection, LGBTQ Equality, and many more come to mind as well.  Two movements in particular that interest me is Gun Violence and Protection and the movement on the legalization of marijuana.  These two movements peak my interest and am always interested when I run across stories.  The movement on guns interest me because I hope to go into law enforcement later on in life and guns play an important role in that field.  My stance is that everyone has the right to own and carry a gun after going through the necessary steps in applying and owning.  I do, however, believe the mentally ill and convicted criminals should not have the right to own or carry a firearm due to them being a potential threat.  I think this will create a safer environment and has been proven to work in other countries.  But there will be challenges to this as many people take the opposition and believe only the military and police should have the right.  A movement such as this is very powerful and has two very different stances that can be taken, creating a strong argument.  The cannabis movement interests me not for personal gain, but of the possibilities and uncertainty surrounding it.  I feel the legalization of marijuana can stir our economy as there is a lot of money to be made of it.  But, many are against it and believe that marijuana is a gateway drug and the uncertainty surrounding health issues is still unknown.  The legalization of marijuana across the US is a difficult process, but I believe it will soon be here.

One thought on “Promoting Positive Change

  1. Hi jjmclaughlin23, I really like how you point out that advocacy revolves around something you are passionate about. I think this is an important point because there are some people who just go to every movement that is stirring up a commotion, but to me that is not advocacy. I also like how you said that the change that people are advocating for is a positive one. This may seem like an idea that goes without saying, but I think it is important to point out because without that the belief that you are working to make the world a better place for yourself or others, it is impossible to have a strong enough stance to advocate for it. I think it makes sense that you are very interested in the gun violence and protection movement since you plan to enter that field. The only thing I don’t agree with is that the sides are very distinct because I think there can be a lot of gray area with legislation that can allow people to take many different positions on the spectrum about gun rights. I also agree that there is a lot to talk about with the legality of marijuana because so many states have such different policies concerning it. Especially with these two issues it is pretty clear to see that people on both sides have very strong opinions and believe they are fighting for the cause that is better for humanity. The side that will ultimately win the battle will be the one that does a better job educating the public on facts that support their side.

    Like

Leave a Reply

