Advocacy

When I think of advocacy I think of people taking a stand for what they believe in and showing their support for a cause. Advocacy is extremely beneficial to our society and as an American, I believe we should take advantage of our right for free speech. In general, I think movements that work to create change are what brings people closer together- unifying them with a strong belief. Movements are an opportunity for different voices to speak louder and more powerful. They turn many small voices into one strong idea that can promote important changes. Movements that come to mind to me right now are the Women’s March, LGBT equality, gun violence, and immigration. I feel that every movement can apply to everyone personally in one way or another and I am grateful that there are people out there that will speak out for those who are unable to. I relate with the Women’s March because of the personal effects it has on me. Between abortion rights and equality for women, I stand with their ideas and would consider exploring it further. I believe that everyone has the right to their own opinions and the right to choose what they want to do with their own life. I hope by exploring these movements I can get a better sense of how I can help in my own school and better understand how much people are fighting for what I believe in. As we move forward, I see potential challenges with disagreements in serious and emotional topics. Hopefully, everyone is understanding of one another and can think about others views in detail.

2 thoughts on “Advocacy

  1. First of all, I think that you did a great job explaining what advocacy means to you. I also consider the Women’s March to be something that’s very personal to me, especially after the recent election. I like your idea that movements “turn many small voices into one strong idea that can promote important changes” because while people may feel as though they themselves cannot make a change, a unified group of people fighting for the same cause most definitely can. I’m very interested in seeing what movement you choose to further research, but overall, great start!

    Like

  2. Hi Jessie. I found your first two sentences very intriguing and really grasped my attention. I like how you began what it means to you, as this is an important first step of trying to get your message across. It lets the reader get a basis of where you intend to take the rest of the paragraph. And as for, you stating it is our constitutional right to freedom of speech, as protesting falls under this, was another good point you hit. I feel as though many people look at movements and feel what these people are doing is wrong and a nuisance. But in fact it is the complete opposite, given that it is non-violent and truly for a good cause. Protesting is used to promote positive change, as you said later, through one large voice rather than many small ones. Protests are protected under our First Amendment of the freedom of speech and it is important to remember we have every right to exercise this right.

    Like

Leave a Reply

